The Register of Deeds office administers notary public oaths for Rowan County notaries between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Please see the "Notary Forms" section for available forms. Instructions are included with each form. Upon completion of the form, mail to :
Notary Public Section
Department of the Secretary of State
PO Box 29626 Raleigh, NC 27626-0626
Please allow two (2) weeks to receive your oath notification letter. When you receive your oath notification letter, appear before an employee of the Register of Deeds office to be sworn in. The notary oath fee is $10 (cash or check).
Requirements for Initial Appointment
- 18 years of age or older
- Must reside or work in North Carolina
- Complete a course of instruction provided by the Secretary of State
- No conviction of a felony under NC or Federal law
- No conviction of a felony in another state that would have been a felony if committed in NC
- No conviction of corruption or malpractice in any office
- Not removed from any office by impeachment and not restored to the rights of citizenship as prescribed by law
Initial Application for North Carolina Notary Public
Upon completion of Notary Public Course, complete the initial application signed by your instructor, sign before a Notary Public, attach the appropriate fee, and mail to the address listed above.
Requirements for Reappointment
Obtain a reappointment form from the Register of Deeds office. Complete the form approximately 3 to 5 weeks before your expiration date, sign before a Notary Public (not yourself) and mail to Secretary of State, Notary Division along with appropriate fee.
Change of Name/Change of Address
Notaries who change their addresses or names or resign their commissions are required to notify the Secretary of State. Within 30 days of changing his or her address, a notary must notify the Secretary by certified or registered mail of the old and new addresses. Within 30 days of changing his or her name, a notary must notify the Secretary by completing the change of name form. The Secretary then amends the old commission, issues the commission in the new name, and directs the notary to appear again before the Register of Deeds for the oath.
A name change and new commission requires the purchase of a new seal. A notary who changes his or her name and county of residence or employment at the same time, must apply for reappointment and purchase a new stamp or seal.
A notary who resigns his or her commission must notify the Secretary by registered or certified mail, giving the effective date of resignation. A notary who no longer works or lives in NC must resign his or her commission.
- Initial Application For NC Notary Public (PDF)
- Reappointment Application For NC Notary Public (PDF)
- Name/Address Change Form (PDF)
- Certificate of Moral Character (PDF)
For more information regarding North Carolina Notaries please visit the NC Secretary Of State’s Website.