Assumed Business Name Certificates
On December 1, 2017, the Assumed Names Law (also known as “doing business as”) changed. Read the Session Law 2017 – 23, House Bill 228 (PDF) for more information. Filings of assumed names are still made at the Register of Deeds office.
Advantages to the new statue include:
- Filing in Rowan County can cover all NC counties (or those you choose)
- You can register up to five names on one form
- Filings no longer have to be notarized.
All assumed names filed before December 1, 2017 will need to be refiled by December 1, 2022 or they will expire. We recommend filing early so that it is in the new system and there is no lapse.
Visit Assumed Business Name Frequently Asked Questions for more information.
Who is required to register when forming a North Carolina business entity?
Business Corporations, Nonprofit Corporations, Limited Liability Companies (LLC), Limited Partnerships (LP), Limited Liability Partnerships (LLP or RLLP), and Limited Liability Limited Partnerships (LLLP) are required to register with the NC Secretary of State’s Office prior to conducting business in North Carolina.
If the company you want to organize is a sole proprietorship or general partnership, you may have to file an assumed name certificate with the Register of Deeds Office in the county where your business office is located.
Please visit the Economic Development Partnership of North Carolina’s Website or the North Carolina Secretary of State’s Website for other business related information and resources.
Cost to File An Assumed Business Name
The cost to file an Assumed Business Name Certificate is $26.00, check or cash. Please keep in mind up to 5 business names may be included in an initial filing of an Assumed Business Name Certificate, however when withdrawing or amending an Assumed Business Name Form a separate withdrawal or amendment form must be submitted for each individual business name. The fee to file an Amendment or Withdrawal is also $26.00, check or cash.